#122 St. Augustine

Whenever I want to travel somewhere knew, I normally I take months to plan a trip. I carefully research hotels, activities, eateries. I do not move out of my home until every minute of the day has an itinerary.

This weekend I took a very impulsive poorly planned trip to St Augustine. I have to say that poorly planned does not equal to a horrible time. It was the best time ever! All I did was acquire a hotel room for the weekend, the rest I did randomly and it was great!

Friday after work I drove to St. Augustine and hung out resting at the hotel room.Watched the series finally of Vampire Diaries.

Saturday morning I woke really early and went over to Ponce de Leon’s Fountain of Youth Archaeological Park where I got to go to the planetarium,  see and feed peacocks, and drink from the spring itself. Walked the entire park enjoying the views and the breeze. Tried to see Mission Nombre de Dios and Shrine of Our Lady of La Leche a few blocks away but it was closed due to hurricane damages. I did get to tour the museum there though. I then met up with Stephanie for lunch at Maple Street Biscuit Company. I had the Sticky Maple. Delicious. We walked the Castillo de San Marcos saw the cannon firing demonstration. Then she had to go and my phone was dying so I went to the hotel to rest before my Ghost and Gravestones tour. It was so much fun. We got to see the old drug store, potters wax museum, and the old jail.

On Sunday I woke early again to explore the city on my own by foot. I parked near the visitors center, walked to the old city gates, went back to Castillo, walked the Bridge of Lions, and went to the Spanish Military Museum. Stephanie met up with me again for lunch at a Cuban restaurant and then for desert at Le Macaron. She left again and I went to the Oldest Wooden School House, then took a tour of the Whetstone Chocolate Factory before heading home. There were a few things I did not get a chance to see and do so I will definitely be heading back. Perhaps next year.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

