Aside

#96 Journal Hunt

Book One May 1, 2013 – April 31,  2015 

Carpe Diem. Two little words that inspired me to do so much. On a shelf covered with bright colors, glitz, glam, glitter, cartoons, elegance, and jokes, it was a plain brown semi hidden “ugly” book that stood out the most because of those two words. They caught my attention and led me to do something I have never done before. They made me purchase a $34.95 book. The book that started it all. Two years and 384 lined pages of memories. Two words that secretly became my life motto. Seize the Day.

book-1

Book Two May 1, 2015 – Present 

When I saw that my book was coming close to an end, I had a little panic. Should I continue to write? Should I get a new book that is the exact same as I already have? Should it look different? I was lost on what to do. I was so inspired by Carpe Diem I wasn’t sure what would happened once the book came to an end. With a little less than 50 pages left, I decided to spend my birthday (9/30/2014) searching Barnes and Noble for my next book.

Stood there for hours I did. Don’t believe me? Ask my mom who kept urging me to hurry and pick one before she killed me. I did see my little brown books twin and almost took it home. I actually picked it up to take it. Hidden behind it, however, was a journal with an antique map. Just as before, it called to me. Seemed like it could be a book filled with stories of travel. Something I have always wanted to do. I picked it up. Took it home, and exactly two years after my first purchase, I finished Carpe Diem and began to write in Book Two.

book-2

Book Three

I am still writing in Book Two. I was right. While Book One helped me learn to Seize the Day. Book Two inspired me to travel. I even made it to Niagara Falls! The book is filled with many adventures, and just like Book One I will be sad to see it end. I am a little over half way and figured I should keep up with birthday tradition. I purchased Book Three today.

I’m not one to spend money lightly. I always try to get the cheapest of things when ever I can but, when it comes to my journals, I only like to get the best of the best. So today I spent some much needed time alone looking through the journals at the Barnes and Noble of the Shops at Wiregrass in Wesley Chapel. Its not exactly a waste of almost $40 to buy a book that will actually  be put to good use. I only buy one every other year too, so in the grand scheme of things, its not that bad a price.

I have to be honest and say, it is not what I expected to bring home with me. Nothing seemed to call out to me as much as the First Two books. I almost went with one covered in antique writing just because it seemed to fit the look and feel of the other two but it wasn’t calling out to me.

Then I spotted this beautiful white leather journal covered in bouquets of purple peonies. I was surprised it caught my eye. Not usually something I would get. But I could just see myself writing in purple ink my future thoughts, adventures, travel, and the moments I stopped to “smell the flowers” and enjoy the little things in life. Something I enjoy doing as much as travel and adventure.

I do not understand my need to feel a strong connection to a journal, but when I do experience it, I know it is the book I am meant to have. Although the book is very different, I am happy with my choice. I cannot wait to start filling in its 384 pages with the amazing memories I have yet to make.

book-3

4 thoughts on “#96 Journal Hunt

  1. Vikkilicious says:

    I definitely see your need to feel a connection to your journal. It is something that you will be bonding with and sharing your experiences with for awhile. It has to have a home vibe to it. I can’t believe you can identify a peonie though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey there. Took me a while to see your comment as well. I guess because I don’t normally get comments so I am not looking for them. Ha. Anyway I’m glad you see my connection theory and that you have gotten a journal of your own. As much as I would like to take credit for knowing what a peony looks like, it was just the name of the journal on the website so I knew what they were. I was calling them flowers before I looked up a picture of the journal.

      Like

  2. jcliken says:

    I think it’s awesome that you do something like this. I have always wanted to invest in my memories like this but my life is just not interesting and the interesting things that do happen are often bad and who wants to document those?

    I do miss living close to you because we went on the most amazing adventures together but I am glad that you have found the time to go on your own. I enjoy hearing about them =)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m kind of mad that it took me so long to see this. It went to my spam comments! I guess because it didn’t recognize your name. But I have added you now so I hope there won’t be future problems with seeing your comments. Anyway, I can understand not wanting to write about the bad things, but I include those in my journal as well. I write about everything in my journal. It is only on this blog that I keep to the fun adventure stuff so that people won’t talk crap about my thoughts on any situations.

      I agree though. You and I have had some of the best adventures ever! You need to come visit me so we can have a few here!

      Like

Leave a Reply

