#83 Pokemon Hunting

I have never been one to play many games. So it comes as no surprise that I had no idea Pokemon Go was being released. I do not keep up with game updates. It was two days after their crazy release and I did not know the game existed. Half the world was hype and I was clueless. Until my cousin came to me last night and asked me about it that is.

I downloaded it to take a look. I grew up watching Pokemon, Yu-gi-oh, and Digimon, among other shows, and was curious what all the fuss was about. Needless to say, I automatically became addicted. I collected cards when I was little and while that was exciting, seeing these creatures seemingly come to life in the real world was insane. I loved it. I’ve been playing it  all day and have advanced quickly. I’ve gone to the park to catch grass type Pokemon and to the beach for water. Walking around the neighborhood collecting from Poke-stops and claiming gyms.

I’ve got a few friends mad at me because I was able to do so much more than them. Not my fault. I just like the game. Took my mind away from all the crap going on in my life.

On another note, the way the game works reminded me of a long time curiosity. Geocaching. I tried so many times while I was in New York to find a cache, and was never successful. Not many fun ones available. Just the quick micro ones. I was very mad at myself. For not thinking about it sooner. I have been in Florida for basically six months and not once did it cross my mind that this place would be crawling full of caches and it is!

When I got home from Poke Hunting I downloaded the app and saw so many in my area. Decided to go out to find my first one. In the dark. Not the best of ideas. The first one was nearly impossible. No lights. Killer cows and spiders. Will go back to it tomorrow in the day light to try and find. I did find one tonight though! My first cache.

It was called Our Fallen Hero’s Captain Bierwiler and located in a white PVC pipe cross. I walked by it several times because I thought I was wrong about the cross (didn’t read the hint). I thought it would be disrespectful to go searching through a memorial  in the middle of the night for a cache. When I read the description again and noticed the hint, I realized the memorial WAS the cache and took the pipe out. Inside was a baggy with dice, googly eyes, and a log. Super excited to find my first cache. So excited that I am going geocaching the entire day tomorrow!

Geocache1

Captain Scott Bierwiler was killed when his patrol car was struck head-on by a teenage driver on Powell Road, just south of Brooksville. On November 10, 2010, the suspect plead guilty to grand theft auto and vehicular homicide. He was sentenced to nine months in county jail followed by two years of house arrest and four years of probation. Captain Bierwiler had served with the Hernando County Sheriff’s Office for 23 years. He is survived by his wife, three children, mother, sister, and brother. Read more: http://www.odmp.org/officer/19773-captain-scott-michael-bierwiler#ixzz1kZppAh3l http://www.hernandosheriff.org/memorial/

3 thoughts on “#83 Pokemon Hunting

Leave a Reply

