#46 The Met and Gray’s Papaya

Its hard to explain what an incredible place the Metropolitan Museum of Art is, but I will give it a try. It is a place so big and full of wonder that you will most definitely get lost at some point or another. Never go alone. I had no choice but to do so and I sure did get lost. I managed to see all I wanted to see though.

  1. The Temple of Dendur
  2. Medieval Sculpture Hall
  3. Arms and Armor galleries
  4. Greek Terracotta Vases
  5. Washington Crossing the Delaware by Emanuel Leutze
  6. Wheat Field with Cypresses by Vincent van Gogh
  7. Self-Portrait with Straw Hat by Vincent van Gogh
  8. Perseus with the Head of Medusa by Antonio Canova
  9. Bridge over a Pond of Water Lilies by Claude Monet

Many more, but unfortunately I did not get to see everything. Just too much for a one day visit. I sure wish I had been smart enough to tag along on one of the museums many tours, perhaps I would not have wasted so much time trying to find my way around, and spent more time on the art.

After the museum I made my way across Central Park. Finally got to see the Great Lawn. It was closed however, for the season, so I did not get to walk across it. At the other end of the park, I made my way down to Gray’s Papaya on Broadway. Best hot dogs I have ever had! To those Nathan’s Lovers that might be a bit of an insult, but it really was just so delicious! Of course along with the hot dogs I bought a papaya drink (which I have never had before) and it was great. Definitely a must eat at while visiting New York City.

GraysPapaya

Leave a Reply

