#34 The High Line

The High Line is a 1.45-mile-long New York City linear park built in Manhattan on an elevated section of a disused New York Central Railroad spur called the West Side Line.

I have wanted to go to the High Line for the longest time and it’s happened! My cousins and I spent over an hour trying to figure out where we could go to hang out for the night. I came across an announcement of a stargazing event happening at the High Line tonight on the Fever app so we decided to check it out.

It was BEAUTIFUL!

The water front, the buildings, the lights, the garden. It was peaceful and quiet. You could hear Jazz music floating in the wind intertwined with the chirping crickets. The smells of different food venders down below. Art on the walls. Wooden benches designed for public cuddling. It was amazing.

We walked for a while enjoying it all and taking pictures. We finally came across the telescope set up for the night. We stood in line waiting our turn to look. When I finally did, I was amazed to find out we weren’t even looking at a star! It was Saturn! I have never seen a planet out side of a science text book. I could see the rings around it and one of its moons. Pretty cool experience.

We then headed off to a diner where I only had water as I had already eaten and was only thirsty. Then we headed home as we all had to wake up early in the morning.

Definitely want to go here on another night.

Leave a Reply

