#22 The Beach

My Beach Essentials

  1. Blanket
  2. Book
  3. Journal and Pen
  4. Camera
  5. Drinking Water
  6. Rice Cakes
  7. Apple
  8. Hand Sanitizer
  9. Wallet
  10. A bag to hold it all in

Enjoyed a relaxing and peaceful afternoon at the beach yesterday. Arrived later than I anticipated, but I did not let that stop me. I walked straight from the subway to the beach. Laid out my blanket, wrote in my journal, and read a few chapters from my book. After eating a small snack of rice cake, apple, and water, I walked down to the waters edge for picture taking and feet wetting. The water was extremely cold and I cannot understand why there were actually people swimming in there! After a good hour of playing with waves and watching seagulls fly, I headed back to my blanket to lay down and stare at the sky while I played with the sand.

A little later, I packed up and decided to check out the new peer. Two years ago it went under construction for major repairs and no one was allowed on it. What with being in Florida most of last summer and then spending a short period of time in Pennsylvania and Upstate New York, I did not get a chance to check it out then. It looks amazing. I am more comfortable with it the way it is now. The old one was so old I used to get scared that I would break the wood planks and plummet to my death far below. This one includes some massive steal and I like that way more. I made it all the way out to the edge. I stood there for a good while watching the fishermen try to get their catch of the day. So weird that these guys have no worries in the world. All they do is spend their days out on the peer. Do they not have jobs or families? I asked them a few questions about the fishing itself but I felt awkward to ask them something so personal. Perhaps one day I will come across a person who will freely speak about their reasons for being there.

Eventually I could not stand the cold much longer and decided to head home. Before reaching the subway however, I was able to get a gigantic box of nerds from the candy store at the corner. I have wanted one for a long time. I always see the extremely over sized candy and wonder what they look like inside the box. I finally found out. A bit disappointed. I thought the box would be filled with  the nerds themselves … like a bunch of loose nerds just in a big box. When I opened it, it just had a bunch of the tiny little packages inside. Basically I could have just bought the little ones from the corner store and it would have been the same thing. Blah!

Anyway! It had been a while since I spent some time in nature. It was much needed. Glad I went out even if just for a few hours.

Leave a Reply

