#13 Ice Skating at Bryant Park

This weekend, a two person trip to a Winter Carnival at Bryant Park turned into a ten person family activity to Ice Skate. We had fun spending time together but, from now on I must remind myself of my limits. I have been feeling pretty okay with the whole fibromyalgia thing. I haven’t been hurting as much. I have been exercising, eating better, sticking to a routine, taking vitamins, so my pain has not flared up much. Then again I have spent most of the past few months in my house.

Saturday I confidently walked out onto that ice with my skates thinking I would be fine. I made it half way along the wall before my feet gave out on me and started shooting pain up my legs and straight up my spine. I had to drag myself all the way back. I couldn’t finish. I was in so much pain. It greatly saddens me to know that many things on my list I will attempt to do and my fibro will get in the way.

Honestly, I do not care though! At least I tried it. Knowing what could happen I was still brave enough to go out there and give it a shot. I can officially scratch ice skating off of my croak list. I went out on that ice and I moved my feet! It counts! I was no Michelle Kwan but hell I glided all the way back so I could sit down and take those dam skates off!

Then after I was able to enjoy some hot apple cider and a churro pretzel while I watched the rest of my family enjoy the ice so it wasn’t a complete waste of a trip.

I am still recuperating which is why it took me so long to update but no worries. I will be out there trying something crazy pretty soon because no matter what, I will do what I want to do. Nothing is going to get in my way.

Leave a Reply

