Status

#1 The Fire is Lit

Life. I see so many people who waste away theirs. They never enjoy one minute of it. Never make something of themselves. They don’t attempt to seek happiness. They are put in difficult situations and use them as despicable reasons excuses to not live their lives. To not adore it. What is the purpose of life? Is it not to enjoy it? Why would anyone not want to? They choose to accept defeat and don’t even bother trying to fight for their right to happiness. I do not get it.

I have many reasons to be cynical. To hate life and be a scrooge. I have been through a lot physically, mentally, and emotionally in a very short period of time. I have been through enough to not want to continue. But why shouldn’t I? Do I not have the right to freedom, beauty, truth, and love? Despite every single obstacle I have faced, do I not deserve my happiness and to live life the way I want to?

For a while there, things seemed hopeless to me. There have been a few events in my life however, that have lit a fire under my butt … and in my heart, urging me to be productive. To do something with my life and not discard it.  We should not waste away worrying about things that do not matter. We should delight in both the little and the big.

Today is my birthday. The beginning of a new year. I look back at the past one and notice all of my accomplishments. In the eyes of others they might seem trivial, but they are not to me. I am doing something with myself. I traveled to several locations, I had fun with friends, I studied and worked hard, I accomplished some major life goals, and I have to say I am very proud to have come this far.

I made a promise to someone that I would not wallow in the bad or the past. That I should make something of myself. That I should keep going no matter what problems may arise. I think I have been living up to that promise and will continue to do so until it is my time to go.

I hope I make her proud as well as myself.

2 thoughts on “#1 The Fire is Lit

  1. Joy says:

    Aww! You’re darn right, you should keep pushing and enjoy life! And I know you are making great strides in keeping the promise you made and she is proud of you. I know I am! =) Look forward to seeing what’s in store for you next!

    Like

Leave a Reply

